Awards by the AG



The Astronomische Gesellschaft awards the Karl Schwarzschild Medal to recognize outstanding scientific contributions. The awarding of the medal is accompanied by the Karl Schwarzschild Lecture held at the scientific annual meeting and their publication by the AG. (recipients)

The Astronomische Gesellschaft awards honorary membership to persons to recognize individuals for their exceptional service to the Society.

Honorary members of the AG (since):

  • Rudolf Kippenhahn (2016)
  • Klaus Tschira (2011)
  • Hans-Heinrich Voigt (2007)
  • Reimar Lüst (1998)
  • Martin Schwarzschild (1993)
  • Erich Kirste (1992)
  • Wilhelm Becker (1992)
  • Albrecht Unsöld (1989)

The Ludwig Biermann Award was established in 1988 by the Astronomische Gesellschaft to be awarded in recognition of outstanding young astronomers. The award consists of financing a scientific stay at an institution of the recipient's choice. (recipients)

The society awards the Bruno H. Bürgel Prize for excellent popular representations of astronomical research results. (recipients)

The Hans-Ludwig Neumann Prize was established in 1996 to recognize the advancement of astronomy at school. (recipients)

The AG awards the Doctoral Thesis Award for the best PhD thesis of the past year. (recipients)

Statutes of the awards

Exceptional prize: The AG promotes pupils as part of the Jugend forscht (Youth's Research) Award and invites the German winners of the Earth/space science section to the following scientific meeting including trophy money of 300€. (recipients)