About the Working Group for the History of Astronomy

AKAG-Logo The Working Group for the History of Astronomy has been founded during the Annual Meeting of the Astronomische Gesellschaft (AG), an international society for German-speaking astronomers, at Jena (Germany) on September 14, 1992.

Aims of the working group are:

The working group is open for all who are interested. The membership is independent from that in the AG. The minimum annual fee is Euro 3. The members receive the printed newsletter twice per year.



President of the WG: PD DDr. Thomas Posch

Secretary: Dr. Klaus-Dieter Herbst

Treasurer: Regina Umland, Mannheim

Secretary for Public Relations: Prof. Dr. Gudrun Wolfschmidt


Bank Acct. of the Working Group: Acct # 334 215 53, Sparkasse Bochum (BLZ 430 500 01)
IBAN: DE37 4305 0001 0033 4215 53, BIC: WELADED1BOC
Please sign all bank transfers with: "Fuer Arbeitskreis Astronomiegeschichte"


Logo of the working group.

last update: 2015-09-08 by H. Steinle